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Introduction

Why are the world’s top players so successful? They spend a long time
building and remembering their complex bidding systems. They acquire a
host of cardplay and defensive techniques. They have also played many
thousands of deals and feel they have ‘been there before’ when facing some
tricky situation.

There is another reason for their success. They make many fewer basic
mistakes! Players at a less exalted level tend to make the same mistakes over
and over again throughout their bridge careers. In this book we will see
many of the most frequently made mistakes — in the bidding, play and
defense. Each type of mistake will be illustrated by several deals where the
original player went wrong. Every chapter will end with some Tips, to help
you to avoid making such errors yourself.

In the first section, Mistakes in the Bidding, I have used deals from high-
level tournament play, including world championships. I watch a lot of top-
class bridge, commentating on Bridge Base Online. The cardplay and the
defense are usually excellent but it’s amazing how often the players surprise
the kibitzers with a bid or call that seems to be a clear mistake. Experts make
such errors less often than the rest of us but I think you will find it
instructive to look at these wayward decisions. Try to analyze why the bid
was wrong before reading my own thoughts on the matter. I do not name the
famous players involved because this would add nothing to the instructive
value. However, I will specify the match or tournament to add authenticity.
When it comes to declarer play and defense, expert mistakes are rarer. Most
of the time I will illustrate the various mistakes with constructed deals, or
deals from a lower level of play.

The more of these 52 common mistakes you can remove from your game,
the better your results will be. Mind you, it’s just possible that someone out
there will finish the book and think: ‘Well, I’d never make any of those
mistakes’. If so, I look forward to watching you in the next Bermuda Bowl!

David Bird
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PART 1

Mistakes in the bidding

Board | Contract By Tricks Score IMPs

3 58X S 6 1100 15
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Mistake 1

Unsound penalty doubles

Judging whether to make a penalty double is not as easy as you may think.
In this chapter we will look at some unsuccessful penalty doubles and try to
analyze why the player should have known that it was not the right moment
for such an action.

We’ll begin with a type of double that you will see countless times,
particularly in the less experienced reaches of the game:

N-S Vul. Dealer North

A732

v5

¢ AKJ10732

sAb6
A85 AaKQ1096
vAl064 N vQ983
¢+ Q96 W E *—
2KQ43 S 210852

AAT4

vKIJ72

¢854

%J97
West North East South
— le 1a INT
pass 3NT pass pass
dbl all pass

West, who had resisted doubling 1NT, was very happy to double 3NT on the
next round. He led the a8 to East’s a4Q, ducked by declarer.

At Trick 2, East switched to the ¥Q in the hope that the defenders might
enjoy four tricks there. (This was optimistic after declarer’s spade duck at
Trick 1.) The queen was covered by the king and ace and West returned a
heart, declarer winning with the #J. A diamond to the ace revealed the 3-0
break. Declarer finessed the #J and took the marked finesse of the ¢J to
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bring in that suit. Seven diamonds, two spades, one heart and one club gave
him two overtricks and a score of +1150.
‘I had to double after your overcall,” West exclaimed. ‘I held 11 points!’
We cannot condemn West’s double merely on account of an adverse
entry on the score-sheet. We must try to write down a few reasons why he
should not have doubled. Think of some yourself before reading my own
suggestions.

e North obviously held strong diamonds and West’s ¢ Q96 sat
under them

e Nothing had forced North-South to bid 3NT. They obviously
thought they could make it and West had no surprise for them

e [If 3NT went down, it would be a good score for East-West
anyway

e South’s spade honors would sit over East’s holding

e An overcall by partner does not promise any defensive
strength. West should have paid more attention to the
opponents’ bidding.

The next deal comes from the semi-finals of a USA2 under-21 trials.

N-S Vul. Dealer North

AJ5432

vQ9432

¢ 104

®9
A876 N AQ09
vKJ107 v A
¢KQ975 W E ¢AJ32
%2 S £QJ10853

A AK10

v865

¢ 86

& AK764
West North East South
— pass 1l pass
lv pass 2% pass
pass 24 34 dbl
3e pass pass dbl
all pass

North led the %9 against 3 ¢ doubled. South won with the &K and returned
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the &7. Declarer ruffed with the ¢ K and was not pressed thereafter to record
three doubled overtricks for +770. What did you make of South’s two
penalty doubles?

The double of 3& would appeal to some, although the risk of a red-suit
removal was evident. The subsequent double of 3 ¢ was... well, [ mustn’t be
rude, particularly as they were juniors. Let’s just say that it was poorly
judged. North had not been able to overcall 1a, yet he subsequently
contested the part-score with 24. What should South make of that? North
was likely to hold a shapely hand with very few points. Consequently, there
was every chance that one of the opponents would have a singleton spade
(not so, in fact). How many clubs did South think were going to stand up
against 3 ¢, when West had pulled the double of 34 to 3 ¢ ? At most one. So,
South was doubling 3¢ with a probable two tricks in his hand, opposite a
partner who might have no defense whatsoever.

This was the auction at the other table:

West North East South

pass I INT
dbl 2% pass 2¢
dbl 2w dbl 24
dbl all pass

West made a slightly risky double of INT. The defenders were then
caught in a ‘doubling rhythm’. I can’t see why East should double 2v
(which can be made). I certainly don’t understand for a moment why West
thought he should double 2a. Had he not already shown his hand to the full?
Eight tricks were easily made, for another 670 in the minus column, and the
total cost was 16 IMPs.

Let’s look at something different, a spectacularly unsuccessful double of
a Stayman bid. It comes from a match between England and the Netherlands.
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N-S Vul. Dealer West

AT72
vAK65
¢+ K2
sAQ975
AAJS8 N A9643
v 84 W E v10732
¢ A98 S 6543
&« KJ1086 ® 2
AaKQ105
vQJI9
¢+QJ107
%43
West North East South
I INT pass 2%
dbl rdbl all pass

The England West decided he was worth a lead-directing double of South’s
Stayman bid. North promptly redoubled, to show interest in playing in that
contract. Look at the diagram. How many tricks do you think the
Netherlands South made?

The ¥8 lead went to the ten and queen. Declarer led a trump, West
inserting the %10 and dummy’s &Q winning. When the ¢K was led, West
captured immediately and returned his remaining heart. Declarer won with
the nine and played two more diamond winners, throwing a spade from
dummy. West ruffed the next diamond with the %6, overruffed with the 7.

These cards remained in play:

a7

v AK

. —

*A95
AATS8 N A9643
:‘ W E :32
*KJ8 e *—

AaKQ105

vlJ

’_

%4
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A spade went to the king and ace. When West returned the %K, declarer
played the %5 from dummy. West could not make another trick, whichever
card he returned! He eventually scored the ¢ A, the A A and only one trump
trick from his #KJ1086. Declarer made two redoubled overtricks, entering
+1560 on his score-card. That was 14 IMPs compared with +630.

It’s an amusing story but our purpose here is to examine the penalty
double of the Stayman 2&%. Was it simply unlucky or was it a bad double?
This is how I see it:

e  There was limited value in asking for a club lead, particularly
if the opponents ended in a suit contract. West had already bid
clubs and his holding was not particularly wonderful.

e The INT overcall warned West that good clubs sat over him.

e  There was no little chance that partner could contest in clubs

e Doubling a Stayman bid gives the next player extra options.

The next deal is from a round-of-16 match in the 2014 Spingold:

N-S Vul. Dealer South

a3

vJ109763

853

&«KJ6
AaKQI07 A98642
v4 N VAS
eKJ1097 |W E|l +AQ42
%£AQ8 S %93

AMATS

vKQ82

¢ 6

107542
West North East South
— — — pass
le pass 1a dbl
44 S5v 54 dbl

all pass

South led the ¢6 to declarer’s ace and a trump was played to the king. A
heart back to the ace and a second trump saw South rising with the ace.
When he switched to a club, declarer rose with the & A, drew the last trump
and claimed an overtrick for +1050. That was 9 IMPs away compared with
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4 a+2 for +680 at the other table.

To avoid making such doubles ourselves, we must sit back and consider
exactly why South’s final double was a clear-cut mistake. Ponder on the

matter before looking at my list.
This is how I see it:

e  North held long hearts but insufficient strength to overcall 1¥ (or
2w). It was clear that he had long hearts and very few points.
e The longer North’s hearts were, the less defensive trick potential

there was in South’s ¥ KQS82.

e South’s defensive values were no more than his aAJ5, which

could well be worth only one trick

e North’s 5v was surely going down, so East’s 54 was bid to

make.

e [f East had misjudged and 54 was going one down, this would be

a good board for North-South anyway.

The next deal arose during an NTU semi-final in China:

Both Vul. Dealer East

A1086432

v_

¢ Q43

& A1052
A95 Al
vAJl10542 N vKQ976
¢ AJS8 W E ¢10962
%93 S %764

AAKQ7

v383

¢ K75

«KQJ8
West North East South
— — pass INT
2w 24 3w 3a
pass 44 pass pass
dbl all pass

An overtrick was easily made, for +990. It was a poor double because the
game was freely bid, albeit after an apparent sign-off by North on the first
round. The defenders’ hearts would be worth little, since an early ruff was
likely. West’s main defense lay in diamonds and her partner’s single heart
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raise did not promise anything much in addition. West had no ‘surprise’ for
declarer and could expect a good board anyway if 44 went down.

The last penalty double to receive our inspection arose in a European
Championship match, a good while ago, between England and Finland:

N-S Vul. Dealer South

AaAQ632

v7654

*6

%1086
Al104 a K
vAJ983 N vKQ102
¢ 10873 W E ¢J952
295 S 2KQJ3

AJO875

v_

¢+ AKQ4

&AT742
West North East South
— — — 1a
pass 3a dbl pass
4v pass pass 44
pass pass dbl all pass

Tony Forrester (South) ruffed the ¥ A lead and played a trump to the ace,
felling East’s king. He then made the remaining tricks on a cross-ruff. That
was three doubled overtricks and an unusual route to the score of +1390.

Why did the Finland East double 44? He may have thought it was a
sacrifice because Forrester had not bid 44 on the previous round. Even on a
good hand such as South held, though, there was no need to bid 44
immediately when 3a had been doubled. If anything, East held less defense
that his partner would expect for the original take-out double at quite a high-
level. If West did have the hoped-for two defensive tricks, he would have
doubled himself. Finally, East’s aK was likely to lie under the ace in the
South hand (it did not, in fact).

The various penalty doubles we have seen were very poor examples, each
with several arguments against them. Most unwise penalty doubles have
only one or two pointers against them. If you look back and fix in your mind
the sort of reasons why these penalty doubles were unproductive, there is
every chance that you won’t make similar doubles yourself. A few of my
partners will think I should do the same!
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Tips to avoid Mistake 1
(Making unsound penalty doubles)

Do not double a freely bid game simply because you have
a lot of points. The opponents will have distribution to
justify their auction.

Be more inclined to double when you have an unexpected
surprise for declarer, such as a bad trump break.

Do not double on the basis that your partner has
overcalled. An overcall does not promise anything much in
defense.

Do not double when you will get a good result anyway if
they have overbid and are going one off.
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Mistake 2

Unwarranted Gambling

Many points are thrown away by entering the auction at a dangerous time, in
the hope that partner will have a fit for you. We are about to see some
examples from top-level play. As in the previous chapter, there will be no
profit from this exercise unless we try to analyze why the bids were wrong.

The first deal comes from the final stages of the 2014 European
Championship, with England facing Norway:

E-W Vul. Dealer North

AAKQI052

v A

¢ A8

%9863
A 84 aJ3
v65 N vK108732
¢ K954 w E ¢+QJ106
& AKJI74 S % Q

A976

vQJo4

¢ 732

%1052
West North East South
— 1a pass pass
2% 3a 4v pass
pass dbl all pass

The England East went 800 down, losing 14 IMPs against 44 two down at
the other table. Why was East’s 4% a mistake? This is how I see it:

e Fast’s suit is weak, with no guarantee of support opposite. The bid
is a huge gamble and may be very expensive when vulnerable.

¢ He has only one card in partner’s suit.

e The bid will cause no problems for the opponents.

e If he wanted to bid his hearts, he should have overcalled 2% on the
first round rather than entering at a high-level.
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The next dubious intervention comes from a quarter-final of the 2013
Bermuda Bowl, with Canada sitting East-West against USAT1:

N-S Vul. Dealer West

A AKJ108
vKJ&83
¢75
& A
a7 AaQ954
vAQI109 N v652
+864 W  E| 403
%£98653 S £Q1042
A632
v74
¢ AKJ1092
® K7
West North East South
pass 1a pass 2¢
2v dbl all pass

What do you make of West’s 2% overcall? The vulnerability was favorable
and he was a passed hand. Yes, but such a risky lead-directing overcall
should be considered only at matchpoints, where a heart lead might save an
expensive overtrick. As I see it, bidding 2% on that hand is a wild gamble at
IMPs. The bid may help the opposing declarer to place the cards. It might
also lead to an unwarranted sacrifice from your partner if he places you with
a more shapely hand, albeit weak in values.

North was able to double for penalties and the contract went five down
for 1100. At the other table, North-South bid ambitiously to 64 and went
three down for a loss of 16 IMPs. They say it is good luck when you have
two bad results on the same board. That’s because it would have cost more if
they had come on separate boards. Wise words, perhaps, but it’s the sort of
good luck we can all do without.

How often do you hear players say: ‘I was only a point or two light? If
I’d had another queen, we’d still have gone 800 down and you wouldn’t
have complained about my bid.” This was one such deal, from a semi-final
of the 2014 Grand National Teams in the USA:
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N-S Vul. Dealer South

AJO75

vA2

*+ K42

w» K876
2Q2 AAKS4
vKI9653 N v 10
07 W E| +AQI103
2A52 S £Q943

A1063

vQ874

9865

*J10
West North East South
— — — pass
lv dbl rdbl 1a
pass pass dbl 2¢
pass pass dbl all pass

What do you make of North’s take-out double, vulnerable against not and
facing a passed hand? It was risky, with little to gain and possibly a huge
penalty to lose. To make matters worse, North was facing two of game’s
most vicious tigers — Jeff Meckstroth and Eric Rodwell!

South tried his luck in 1a8. When Rodwell doubled this in the East seat,
South jumped from the frying pan into the fire, correcting to 2 ¢. This was
also doubled and Meckstroth led the aQ, the defenders taking three tricks in
the suit. Declarer discarded the &10 on a fourth round of spades and West
ruffed with the ¢7.

West’s ] switch was covered by the king and ace. East drew further
rounds of trumps with the 10 and queen. He then switched to the ¥ 10, won
with the ace. When declarer called for a low club, East rose with the queen
and exited with a low club. Declarer discarded a heart and West won with
the ace. He cashed the ¥K and gave East a heart ruff with the & 3. Declarer
scored the ¢9 at Trick 13. With only two tricks before him, he then had to
enter -1700 in his scorecard. This cost 15 IMPs compared with 3NT+1 at the
other table, where North did not make a take-out double over 1.

North’s loss on the board is our gain — a valuable warning not to make
sub-minimum bids when the possible losses outweigh the possible gains.

We will end with an unwarranted gamble of a different sort. The deal
comes from a quarter-final of the 2014 Spingold.
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Both Vul. Dealer East

AaKJ96

vJ1086

¢ 1064

& K3
A543 N AaAQS82
vA9542 vK73
*+Q W E ¢J98752
Q652 S & —

A 107

vQ

¢ AK3

& AJ109874
West North East South
_ — le 2%
dbl 3 3a S5&%
dbl all pass

At the other table South’s 2& was passed out and eight tricks were made.
Here West contested with a negative double and North raised the clubs,
expecting at least six clubs opposite. What should South do over East’s 3a?

Bidding 5 is too much. Partner didn’t bid 2 to show a sound raise to
3&. There are likely to be three quick losers in the majors and a fair chance
that you will lose a diamond too. Even if you think 4% or 44 will be a make,
you won’t cause any awkward decision for West by leaping to S&. He is a
passed hand and can hardly be thinking of going to the five-level.

Declarer lost two spades, one heart, one diamond and a club, conceding
800 for 13 IMPs away. Of course it was unlucky to lose so much but when
you make an unwarranted gamble, the cards will often let you down.

Tips to avoid mistake 2
(Unwarranted gambling)

o Entering the auction at an unsafe level, on a hand that is not
worth very much, may be a thrilling experience. Like
climbing an icy peak, it can also be dangerous.

. Bridge is meant to be a game of skill, not a rival attraction
to playing roulette. When some flight of fancy goes wrong,
this can be upsetting for your partner and your teammates.

o By all means try to make life difficult for the opponents, but
draw a sensible limit in this regard.
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52 COMMON BRIDGE MISTAKES

Why are the world’s top players so successful? They make very few basic
mistakes! Players at a less exalted level often make the same mistakes over
and over again throughout their bridge careers. In this book you will see 52
of the most frequent mistakes — in bidding, play and defense. The chapter
on each mistake will contain several deals where the original player went
wrong. It will end with some tips, to help you avoid making such errors
yourself.

In the first section, Mistakes in the Bidding, the author has used deals
from high-level tournament play, including world championships. The
cardplay and the defense in such events are usually excellent but it’s amazing
how often experts surprise the kibitzers with a bid or call that seems to be
a clear mistake. Experts make such errors less often than the rest of us
but you will find it instructive to look at these wayward decisions. Try to
analyze why the bid was wrong before reading the author’s thoughts on the
matter. When it comes to declarer play and defense, expert mistakes are
rarer. These errors are illustrated with constructed deals, or examples from
a lower level of play.

Every time you eradicate one of these 52 common mistakes from your
game, your results will improve. Avoid all of them and... who knows what

may happen?
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